top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

My Whole 30 Journey


Image sourced from www.whole30.com

Back in December of 2015 I read for the first time about Whole30: a rather "trendy" eating and lifestyle program, aimed at cleaning up eating habits and removing toxins from the body. I learned that the overall premise of the diet is to remove the following items from your diet for 30 consecutive days:

1) added sugars,

2) alcohol,

3) grains (yes - that includes quinoa!),

4) dairy,

5) legumes (even peanuts...!), and

6) carrageenan, MSG or sulfites

In addition, the Whole30 also suggests that you don't try to use approved items to recreate something you've removed (i.e., almond flour muffins, or the like) and asks you to keep off the scale and focus more on how you feel.

Sounds easy... right?

I did a lot of research on the program and searched online to read blogs and other diaries about the experience. I found that some loved it and were super successful in their Whole30 endeavor, and others wrote about their failures and how difficult it was in today's society (there's added sugar in almost EVERYTHING! Even bacon!).

I felt so motivated by all the reading about Whole30 I had done. People's lives had changed from this program: weight loss, improved digestion, cleared skin, better sleep... those were just some of the most common positives that I had seen through my research. I felt like even if I dedicated 30 days to even just find one or two of those benefits in my life, it would be worth it.

Now let's talk about the weight loss part of it. I know I didn't have a lot to lose: I'm a petite girl (Amanda's Petite World), and I've been an avid runner and dedicated to working out for the last 5+ years. I've kept my weight and pant size pretty consistent, and I didn't have a lot to complain about. I've just wanted to tone up and feel better in a bathing suit (right, girls?), and I thought that if Whole30 had the weight loss effect on me, it would only aid in that. If not, no big deal - but maybe I'd experience better sleep or glowing skin. Those would be worth it too.

I decided to start Whole30 after the holidays had wound down. Jarrett and I were planning to go on a vacation at the end of March (more on that later...), and so I decided to start on February 27th, a Saturday. This would give me 30 days to hopefully feel my best before we took off, and a vacation at the end of such a journey feels like the best reward ever!

Here's how my Whole30 Journey went....

Days 1-3: "Why WOULDN'T anyone do this? I feel great!" - that was what I was saying to everyone who asked how it was going. I think I want to refer to days 1-3 as a "Honeymoon Stage". I felt like I could do anything... I also tried to keep it to myself that I was doing it, especially at work; I felt like I didn't need anyone to know what I was doing - that I could totally keep this on the DL. Boy, was I wrong.

Days 4-9: "Why did I do this again?" During days 4-9, I had to keep reminding myself of why I was doing this. I was tired, hungry, grouchy (I'm so so sorry Jarrett!), and really wanted a margarita. My friends were going out for drinks, and I was having seltzer water at Stat's in Southie or staying home to watch a movie and go to bed early (did I say how tired I was?). Wahhh, poor me. I also had a bit of a headache through this span, which I knew to be considered a sugar and additives hangover. Your body is trying to get rid of all of it, and you're feeling the results. How I felt from day 4 to day 9 was not much different - pretty consistent misery. On day 4 or 5 I broke down and told my colleagues about my Whole30 Journey, and being only one of two females at my company, I was so surprised to find out how supportive all the guys were.

Days 10-14: "Don't ask." At this point, I was so sick of talking about Whole30. When I went out for dinner (rarely), or had to grab lunch from our downstairs cafe because I forgot all of my hard work on the counter at home, I just told people I had a dairy allergy (please, don't cook my chicken in butter!), and stuck to simple salads that I knew couldn't be messed up - with no dressing, of course. I also started to get really sick of cooking, but mostly the clean up. I just wanted quick and easy meals. According to the Whole30 program guide, days 10 and 11 are the most common days for participants to give up. I'm way too stubborn for that so I knew I had to power through.

Days 15-20: "I've made it this far. I can't mess up now." During this time period, I had a LOT going on: a fundraiser where everyone around me would be drinking, lunch with girlfriends from college where we were going for sushi (no rice + no soy sauce... what's the point?), and a St. Patty's Day dinner where there would be delicious foods prepared with butter and all the rest of the items I couldn't eat. Although it would have likely been tempting to give up earlier on, I was feeling so good that I didn't WANT to mess up. I ate in advance in preparation for any event I went to and I got to see all of my friends drunk while I was totally sober (Haha, guys! You're all funny). I also baked for previously mentioned St. Patty's Day dinner - and didn't even lick my fingers when I had sugar and frosting all over them. Imagine? During these 5 days I also started to sleep like a ROCK.

Days 20-30: "I can see the light at the end of the tunnel." I read in my research that the last 10 days, or week, can be the second hardest timespan of the whole program. I actually didn't experience this. I was so into my new regular habits and my social life wasn't as busy during these days... it just felt natural to eat this way. We even went to Rino's in East Boston (seriously the best Italian food in Boston) for Jarrett and I's friends birthday. I ordered the short ribs with extra veggies on the side instead of risotto, and told them I had a gluten and dairy allergy (I'm so sorry for lying to everyone..) to ensure things were cooked properly for me. I was feeling SO good at this point. My pants were way too big, my skin was GLOWING, my digestion was predictable, my mood was better (unless I got HANGRY - sorry everyone for what I said when I was hungry! Never ever ever skip lunch), and my hardest and longest workouts felt almost effortless.

And then, that quickly, it was Day 30 and it was all over! Day 30 was actually Easter, so I decided to end a half day early so that I could enjoy Easter dinner with Jarrett's family. Cause... #balance.

So - what did I learn over the 30 days?

- Black iced coffee is wonderful. Gross, right? I was always a milk and 1 equal kinda gal - but that was off limits on Whole30. Now, over 2 months later I still order my coffee black. And I like it. WOW! Iced tea is also a huge savior when you need some caffeine... add a lemon and it's delicious!

- Pinterest was the best thing to ever happen to someone on Whole30. I used it SO much to find interesting recipes and keep things fresh. And most recipes can be altered to Whole30 standards... it just takes some creativity (and a lot of spaghetti squash and cauliflower).

- Larabars became my best friend. I kept them in my bag and at work for pre-workout snacks, or for when I felt like my blood sugar was low (this mostly happened at the beginning when I was getting used to what my body needed and how much of it). My favorite flavors are Coconut Cream Pie and Cashew Cookie. After 10 days or so I forgot what a cookie tasted like - and I told Jarrett I imagined a Cashew Cookie Larabar to taste just like a chocolate chip cookie! Also - Amazon sells them at the best price... you can't beat it!

- Watching the Food Network while on Whole30 wasn't as hard as I would have thought (I just love it SO much. Shout out to the Pioneer Woman and The Kitchen... Saturday favorites!) and I actually started to question how they were cooking. Like really, Ree? Do you need that whole stick of butter in that recipe? I bet Ghee would work fine or you could use some olive oil. I'm annoying, I know.

- People REALLY hate it when you eat healthfully - especially when they don't. There was one day I brought a container of steamed vegetables into work as a late afternoon snack (you're not supposed to snack on Whole30 but if I was going to the gym right after work I would have to in order to make it through) and a colleague of mine came over to the microwave where I was heating them up to make a comment along the lines of "MORE healthy food? As a snack? Are those vegetables? You need some cookies." No sir, I don't need cookies - these are going to fuel my workout after work. But thank you for your input. People just like to voice their opinion about other's eating habits and I'm not sure why.

- Protein is important. I'm not a big meat person, but through Whole30 I learned to find the importance a high protein intake - and meat was the easiest source to find it in for most meals. Without a high protein count per meal, I would find myself hungrier than usual before the next meal. Without snacks as an option, a full meal for breakfast, lunch and dinner were very important.

And my results?

- I'm not positive what my starting weight was (the whole no scale for years thing...), but I have a pretty good idea that I lost around 10 pounds. Pants don't fit anymore, bras are loose, and overall just feel lighter. No complaints here! It felt great to feel so lean while I was in a bikini in Punta Cana.

- My skin reacts WONDERFULLY to clean eating. I haven't seen a real breakout since this Whole30 journey.

- I want to eat healthfully. I actually like how I feel after I eat Whole30 approved foods better than how I feel after I eat something that's a bit heavier. Wait, you're not SUPPOSED to go to bed with heartburn after dinner every night? Wow.

- People are inspired by results. I've had a lot of people ask about my journey and a few have even started the program since my completion. #wishyouwouldhavedoneitwithme

So, that's that. I completed the Whole30 successfully, and I have results to show for it. I took a couple months since the Whole30 (and a great vacation!) to indulge in whatever I have wanted, but 4 days ago Jarrett started the program himself and I'm following it again! I'm going to be away at the end of May for a bachelorette weekend, so I will stop it then and not complete the full 30 days - but until then, I'm on this journey with Jarrett and supporting him through his first attempt while starting a shorter round 2 for myself.

Questions? I'm not an expert, but I'm always open to discuss!

- Amanda

bottom of page